CODE's Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit & Métis Literature

Burt Award for FNMI badgeNow receiving submissions

DEADLINE: March 31, 2016

In collaboration with the Literary Prizes Foundation, the Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Literature is given annually to English-language literary works for young adults by First Nations, Inuit or Métis authors.

A first prize of $12,000, a second prize of $8,000 and a third prize of $5,000 will be awarded to the authors and translators (if applicable) of the winning titles. Publishers of winning titles will be awarded a guaranteed purchase of a minimum of 2,500 copies, which will be delivered to First Nations, Inuit and Métis youth across Canada.

Call for Submissions

Eligible manuscripts and books published between February 15, 2015 and March 31, 2016 must be submitted by publishers no later than March 31, 2016.

Guidelines and Application form

Download the e-flyer (pdf)

For more information, contact:

Hadley Dyer
Program Manager, Literary Awards & Publishing

Learn more:

Join the conversation on Twitter and Facebook by using #BurtAward.

Our partners



Debut novelist Tamika Gibson wins CODE’s 2016 Burt Award for Caribbean LiteratureMay 02, 2016CODE announced the winners of its third annual Burt Award for Caribbean Literature, which recognizes outstanding writing for young adults by Caribbean authors, at the 2016 NGC Bocas Lit Fest in Port-of-Spain full article...
Burt Award for Caribbean spring events 2016Apr 26, 2016There is no shortage of Burt Award activities taking place in the Caribbean this spring. Below is a listing of what to expect in the weeks and months ahead. full article...