CODE Board Director Recognized for Contribution to Literacy Education and Research

November 28, 2011

On November 5, 2011, the Association of Literacy Educators and Researchers (ALER) presented CODE Board Director Jon Shapiro with the Albert J. Mazurkiewicz Special Services Award. The award, recognizing his significant contributions to ALER, was presented during the organization’s annual conference held in Richmond, Virginia.

A former Senior Associate Dean and Dean pro tem of the Faculty of Education at the University of British Columbia, Jon Shapiro, currently a professor in the Department of Language and Literacy Education, served on ALER’s Board of Directors in various roles from 1991 to 2008. He then became the Association’s President — the first and only one to date from outside the United States.

Prof. Jon Shapiro

ALER, formerly known as the College Reading Association, works to: promote standards and competency within the literacy educator and researcher profession;  stimulate the self-development and professional growth of teachers and reading specialists at all educational levels; encourage the continuing improvement of college and university curricula and encourage preparation programs for teachers and reading specialists; and encourage the continuing improvement of administrative, clinical, diagnostic, and instructional practices related to the learning process.

CODE would like to congratulate Professor Shapiro for this great recognition and to thank him for his volunteer service to CODE as a member of our Board of Directors.

Jon Shapiro with Leila Jagdeo of The Guyana Book Foundation at a CODE event